more from
Infrequent Seams
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

SONG CYCLING (24bit​/​96khz)

by Ensemble Consensus

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $15 USD  or more


  • USB Flash Drive + Digital Album

    The limited edition physical USB drives contain high definition and mp3 audio, three bonus tracks, three music videos, text scores the ensemble used to guide the collaborative songwriting, and other documentation.

    Includes unlimited streaming of SONG CYCLING (24bit/96khz) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 10 days

      $20 USD or more 




Song Cycling is an interactive poetry and musical performance. For this album, Consensus facilitated a collaborative writing of what we call “poetic scores” using graphics and texts. The poetic scores were iteratively interpreted into song by the ensemble through musical improvisation; each score was revised and reworked in between musical interpretations. Song Cycling is an effort to develop a spontaneous, experimental, and communal song-writing process.

The album contains recordings of three poems/songs we collectively wrote and performed over a four-hour-long studio session. We grouped two different musical interpretations of the three poems into a six-track album. We’ve also included three bonus tracks (one additional interpretation from each poem) in our physical album and high-definition digital album.


released November 20, 2020

Taylor Arnold (Bassoon), Sasha Berger (Voice), Leo Chang (Voice & VOCALNORI), Oliver Hickman (Electric Guitar), Samn Johnson (Piano), Sam Kaseta (Voice), Andrew Koss (Saxophone), Charlie Kozey (Electric Guitar), Ashley Muniz (Voice & Electronics), Toshi Tsuruoka (Electronics), Lucy Yao (Piano)

Song Cycling is a Group Listening project by Ensemble Consensus
All music and lyrics co-composed and performed by Ensemble Consensus

Design of facilitation guidelines for group improvisation/co-composition led by Ashley Muniz and Leo Chang

All tracks recorded November 24, 2019 by Hammer Zhu at Dolan Studios
Tracks 1, 4, and 7 mixed by Oliver Hickman
Tracks 2, 5, and 8 mixed by Leo Chang
Tracks 3, 6, and 9 mixed by Samn Johnson
Mastered by Toshi Tsuruoka

Cover artwork by Ashley Muniz
Video art by Ashley Muniz


all rights reserved



Ensemble Consensus Brooklyn, New York

Ensemble Consensus is made up of artists who come together to co-create performances via what we call Group Listening: a practice that transforms creative prompts into music through collective group work and iterative improvisation. Through Group Listening, we seek a constant questioning and negotiation of identities and aesthetics, rather than definitions. ... more

contact / help

Contact Ensemble Consensus

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Ensemble Consensus, you may also like: